Privacy Policy

Our Commitment to Privacy

Davis LLP (see definition below) is committed to maintaining the security, confidentiality and privacy of personal information. This Privacy Policy documents our on-going commitment and has been developed in compliance with applicable privacy legislation.

Scope of Policy

This Policy applies to Davis LLP, Davis Management Limited Partnership, Davis Management Ltd. and any other affiliates from time to time in respect of activities that are subject to federal and provincial privacy legislation. References to "Davis LLP", "we" or "us" in this policy include Davis LLP, Davis, Davis Management Limited Partnership, Davis Management Ltd. and any other affiliates from time to time.

This Policy addresses personal information about our clients, service providers and other individuals. It does not apply to information collected, used or disclosed with respect to corporate or commercial entities. This Policy does not apply to the collection, use or disclosure of the following information by Davis:

  • Business contact information;
  • Publicly available information recognized under applicable privacy legislation;
  • Employee personal information, as the Davis Employee Privacy Policy applies to such information.

 

  1. 1. Accountability

Davis LLP is responsible for personal information under its control. We have designated a Privacy Officer who is responsible for Davis compliance with this Policy.

  1. 2. Purposes

Upon or before collecting information, Davis will state the purpose of collection, unless the purpose is obvious, and will provide, on request, contact information for the Privacy Officer who can answer questions about the collection.

We collect, use and disclose personal information for purposes authorized or required by applicable privacy legislation or other law and for the following purposes:

  • To provide legal advice and perform legal services;
  • To establish and maintain client and supplier relationships, which may include evaluating credit standing and obtaining and providing credit information and credit reports;
  • To fulfil legal duties and avoid conflicts of interest;
  • To share information with third parties for the purpose of providing legal services, including data service providers, printers, registry agents, other suppliers of products and services, opposing counsel, foreign counsel, witnesses and experts;
  • To manage and develop our business and operations;
  • To detect and protect Davis, yourself and others from error, negligence, fraud or other illegal activity, which may include providing information to insurers;
  • To provide information to anyone working with or for Davis as needed for the provision of our services;
  • To issue invoices, process payments and collect debts owed to Davis;
  • To engage in business transactions, including the sale, transfer, securitization, financing or other disposition of assets or liabilities of Davis;
  • To comply with legal and regulatory requirements.

The above collections, uses and disclosures are a necessary part of your relationship with us.

We may also use your personal information for the following additional purposes:

  • To offer you additional or alternative services and we may add it to client lists which we prepare and use for this purpose in accordance with Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation;
  • To provide you with newsletters, bulletins, information about upcoming seminars and other general information about areas of law and about Davis LLP in accordance with Canadian Anti-Spam Legislation;
  • To contact you for survey purposes.

If you do not want us to use your personal information for these additional purposes you may opt out at any time by providing written notice to the Davis LLP Privacy Officer (or by unsubscribing to electronic newsletters, bulletins, etc.) . You will not be refused services merely because you advised Davis LLP to stop using information in these ways.

Before using or disclosing personal information for a purpose not previously identified, we will identify the new purpose and obtain your consent unless the use or disclosure is authorized or required by law.

  1. 3. Consent

We will obtain your consent to collect, use or disclose personal information except where we are authorized or required by law to do so without consent. For example, we may collect, use or disclose personal information without your knowledge or consent where:

  • The personal information is publicly available from a prescribed source, such as a telephone directory;
  • Davis is collecting or paying a debt;
  • It is reasonable to expect that obtaining consent would compromise an investigation or proceeding.
  • Your consent can be express, implied or given through an authorized representative such as a lawyer, agent or broker.

Consent may be provided orally, in writing, electronically, through inaction (such as when you fail to notify us that you do not wish your personal information collected/used/disclosed for optional purposes following reasonable notice of same) or otherwise. By providing personal information to us, you agree that we may collect, use and disclose such personal information as set out in this Privacy Policy and as otherwise permitted or required by law.

You may withdraw consent at any time, subject to legal or contractual restrictions, provided that reasonable notice of withdrawal of consent is given to Davis. On receipt of notice of withdrawal of consent, we will inform you of the likely consequences of the withdrawal of consent, which may include our inability to provide services for which that information is necessary.

  1. 4. Limits on Collection of Personal Information

We will not collect personal information indiscriminately and will limit collection of personal information to that which is reasonable and necessary to provide our services and which is reasonable and necessary for the purposes consented to by you. Davis also collects personal information as authorized or required by law.

  1. 5. Limits for Using, Disclosing and Retaining Personal Information

Your personal information will only be used or disclosed for the purposes set out above and as authorized by law.

We will keep personal information used to make a decision affecting an individual for at least one year after using it to make the decision.

We will destroy, erase or make anonymous documents or other records containing personal information as soon as it is reasonable to assume that the original purpose is no longer being served by retention of the information and retention is no longer necessary for legal or business purposes.

We will take due care when destroying personal information so as to prevent unauthorized access to the information.

  1. 6. Accuracy

We will make reasonable efforts to ensure that personal information we collect, use or disclose is accurate and complete. In some cases, we rely on you to ensure that certain information, such as your address or telephone number, is current, complete and accurate.

If you demonstrate the inaccuracy or incompleteness of personal information, we will amend the information as required. If appropriate, we will send the amended information to third parties to whom the information has been disclosed.

When a challenge regarding the accuracy of personal information is not resolved to your satisfaction, we will annotate the personal information under our control with a note that the correction was requested but not made.

  1. 7. Safeguarding Personal Information

We recognize our professional and legal obligations to protect the confidential information of our clients. We recognize as well our legal obligations to protect the personal information we have gathered about our clients and about other individuals during the course of our practice of law.

We have therefore made arrangements to secure against the unauthorized access, collection, use, disclosure, copying, modification, disposal or destruction of personal information.

Please note that confidentiality and security are not assured when information is transmitted through e-mail or other electronic communication. We will not be responsible for any loss or damage as a result of a breach of security and/or confidentiality when you transmit information to us by e-mail or other electronic communication or when we transmit such information by such means at your request.

  1. 8. Openness

Davis is open about the policies and procedures it uses to protect your personal information. Information about these policies and procedures will be made available. However, to ensure the integrity of our security procedures and business methods, we do not disclose sensitive information about our policies and procedures.

  1. 9. Providing Access

You have a right to access your personal information held by Davis.

Upon written request and authentication of identity, we will provide you with your personal information under our control, information about the ways in which that information is being used and a description of the individuals and organizations to whom that information has been disclosed.

We may charge a reasonable fee for providing information in response to an access request and will provide an estimate of any such fee upon receiving an access to information request. We may require a deposit for all or part of the fee.

We will make the information available within 30 days or provide written notice where additional time is required to fulfil the request.

In some situations, we may not be able to provide access to certain personal information. This may be the case where, for example, disclosure would reveal personal information about another individual, the personal information is protected by solicitor/client privilege, the information was collected for the purposes of an investigation, disclosure of the information would reveal confidential commercial information that, if disclosed, could harm the competitive position of Davis, or where we exercise our solicitor's lien against materials in our files in respect of outstanding accounts. Davis may also be prevented by law from providing access to certain personal information.

Where an access request is refused, we will notify you in writing, document the reasons for refusal and outline further steps which are available to you.

  1. 10. Changes

We may review and change our Privacy Policy from time to time.

  1. 11. Web Site

Our web site presently does not use cookies. Cookies are small pieces of data which are stored on your computer to allow your web browser to remember something about a web site. Cookies are useful because they enable site personalization. For example, cookies can be used to remember a password so that you do not need to enter it every time you log onto a site. Cookies may also enable a site to track and target a user's interests to enhance your experience on their site.

Our web site may contain links to other sites and advertisements. Our Privacy Policy only applies to information collected by our web site. We are not responsible for the privacy practices and policies of third parties.

  1. 12. Compliance

Davis LLP will, on request, provide information regarding its complaint procedures.

For further information about our Privacy Policy, please visit the Contact Us page, and scroll down to "General Inquiries" to and submit your query. Or, you may contact:

Privacy Officer - c/o LXA
Davis LLP
2800 - 666 Burrard Street
Vancouver, B.C. V6C 2Z7
Telephone: 604.687.9444
Facsimile: 604.687.1612

Confidentialité

Notre engagement à protéger vos renseignements personnels

Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L. (voir définition ci-dessous), s'engage à maintenir la sécurité et la confidentialité de tout renseignement personnel. La présente Politique de confidentialité reflète notre engagement permanent à assurer cette confidentialité et est conforme aux lois applicables en ce domaine.

Application de la Politique

Cette politique s'applique à Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L., à Société Davis de direction en commandite, à Davis Direction Ltée. , ainsi qu'à tous les autres affiliés qui, à l'occasion, sont assujettis, relativement à leurs activités, aux lois fédérales et provinciales sur la vie privée. Toute référence à «Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L.» et à «nous» dans cette Politique inclut Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L., Société Davis de direction en commandite, Davis Management Ltd, ainsi que, à l'occasion, tout autre affilié.

Cette Politique concerne les renseignements personnels au sujet de nos clients, nos fournisseurs de services ainsi que d'autres particuliers. Elle ne s'applique pas aux renseignements recueillis, utilisés ou divulgués relativement à des sociétés ou des entités commerciales. Cette Politique ne s'applique pas à la collecte, l'utilisation ou la divulgation par Davis des renseignements suivants:

  • Renseignements sur les contacts d'affaires;
  • Renseignements accessibles au public en vertu de lois applicables;
  • Renseignements privés sur les employés de Davis, puisqu'ils sont couverts par la Politique sur la confidentialité des employés de Davis.

1. Imputabilité

Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L., est responsable des renseignements personnels qui sont sous son contrôle. Nous avons assigné à un agent de la protection de la vie privée la responsabilité d'assurer que Davis se conforme à cette Politique.

2. Motifs

Avant ou au moment de recueillir des renseignements, Davis indiquera les motifs pour lesquels il le fait, à moins que ces motifs ne soient évidents, et fournira, sur demande, les coordonnées de l'agent de la protection de la vie privée, lequel pourra alors répondre aux questions relatives à la collecte de ces renseignements.

Nous recueillons, utilisons et divulguons des renseignements personnels approuvés ou requis par les lois applicables sur la vie privée, ou par d'autres lois, pour les motifs suivants :

  • Offrir des conseils juridiques et fournir des services juridiques;
  • Établir et maintenir des liens avec clients et fournisseurs, ce qui peut inclure évaluer le degré de solvabilité, ainsi qu'obtenir et fournir des renseignements sur la solvabilité et des rapports de solvabilité;
  • Satisfaire à ses obligations juridiques et éviter les conflits d'intérêts;
  • Partager des renseignements avec des tiers en rapport avec des services juridiques; ces tiers peuvent inclure des services informatiques, des imprimeurs, des représentants du greffe, d'autres fournisseurs de produits et services, des avocats adverses, des avocats étrangers, des témoins et des experts;
  • Gérer et développer notre entreprise et ses activités;
  • Déceler toute erreur, négligence, fraude ou autre activité illégale dans le but de protéger Davis, de vous protéger et d'en protéger d'autres; ceci pourrait inclure des renseignements à fournir aux assureurs;
  • Fournir des renseignements, au besoin, à quiconque travaille pour ou avec Davis afin d'assurer la prestation de nos services;
  • Émettre des factures, acheminer pour paiement des factures et recouvrer des créances pour le compte de Davis;
  • Participer à des opérations commerciales, notamment la vente, le transfert, la titrisation, le financement ou autre forme d'aliénation d'actifs ou de passifs de Davis;
  • Se conformer aux exigences de lois et règlements.

Les collectes, utilisations et divulgations de renseignements ci-haut décrites constituent une partie essentielle de votre lien avec notre cabinet.

Nous pouvons également utiliser vos renseignements personnels pour les motifs additionnels suivants :

  • Offrir des services additionnels ou alternatifs que nous pouvons ajouter aux listes de clients, que nous préparons et utilisons dans ce but;
  • Vous faire parvenir des lettres et bulletins d'information, ainsi que des renseignements sur des séminaires à venir et autres renseignements généraux sur Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L.;
  • Vous contacter à des fins de sondage.

Si vous ne désirez pas que nous utilisions vos renseignements pour ces motifs additionnels, vous pouvez nous en aviser, en tout temps, au moyen d'un avis écrit à l'agent de la protection de la vie privée de Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L.. Nous ne vous nierons pas nos services si vous avisez Davis, S.E.N.C.R.L., de mettre fin à l'utilisation de vos renseignements de cette façon.

Avant d'utiliser ou de divulguer des renseignements pour un motif non encore désigné, nous vous ferons part de ce nouveau motif et vous demanderons votre consentement, à moins que l'usage ou la divulgation des renseignements en question ne soit autorisé ou requis par la loi.

3. Consentement

Nous obtiendrons votre consentement pour recueillir, utiliser ou divulguer des renseignements personnels, sauf si, d'après la loi, nous avons l'autorisation ou l'obligation de le faire sans ce consentement. À titre d'exemple, nous pouvons recueillir, utiliser ou divulguer vos renseignements personnels sans vous en faire part ou sans obtenir votre consentement lorsque :

  • Les renseignements personnels sont disponibles au public de sources d'informations prescrites, comme l'annuaire de téléphone;
  • Davis recouvre une créance ou paie une dette;
  • Il serait raisonnable de s'attendre à ce que l'obtention de votre consentement compromette une enquête ou un acte judiciaire.

Votre consentement peut être explicite, implicite ou manifesté par l'intermédiaire d'un représentant autorisé, tel un avocat, un agent ou un courtier.

Votre consentement peut être donné verbalement, par écrit, par courrier électronique, par votre inaction (par exemple, lorsque vous ne nous avisez pas, après notre préavis raisonnable à ce sujet, que vous ne voulez pas que les renseignements personnels à votre sujet soient recueillis/utilisés/divulgués pour des motifs facultatifs), ou de toute autre façon. En nous fournissant des renseignements à votre sujet, vous acceptez que nous recueillions, utilisions et divulguions tous les renseignements personnels tels que décrits dans cette Politique de confidentialité ou tels qu'autorisés ou requis par la loi.

Vous pouvez révoquer votre consentement en tout temps, sous réserve de restrictions juridiques ou contractuelles et sous réserve de préavis raisonnable à cet effet à Davis. Dès réception de cette révocation de consentement, nous vous informerons des conséquences probables de la révocation, lesquelles pourront inclure notre inaptitude à vous fournir les services qui nécessitent ces renseignements.

4. Limites quant à la collecte de renseignements

Nous ne recueillerons pas des renseignements au hasard et nous nous limiterons à ne collecter que les renseignements qui sont raisonnables et nécessaires pour compléter notre mandat envers vous et qui est sont raisonnables et nécessaires eu égard aux motifs auxquels vous avez consenti. Davis recueille également des renseignements personnels que la loi autorise ou requiert.

5. Limites quant à l'utilisation, la divulgation et la rétention des renseignements

Vos renseignements personnels ne seront utilisés ou divulgués que pour les motifs énoncés ci-haut, conformément à l'autorisation de la loi à cet égard.

Nous maintiendrons les renseignements personnels que nous aurons utilisés pour prendre une décision à l'égard d'un particulier pendant au moins un an après avoir utilisé lesdits renseignements.

Nous détruirons, effacerons ou rendrons anonymes les documents contenant les renseignements, ainsi que tout autre document contenant des renseignements personnels, aussitôt qu'il sera raisonnable d'assumer qu'il n'y a plus de motif pour conserver ces documents et que leur rétention n'est plus nécessaire à des fins juridiques ou à des fins d'affaires.

Nous exercerons avec vigilance la destruction de renseignements personnels afin de prévenir tout accès non autorisée à ces documents.

6. Exactitude

Nous ferons tout ce qu'il est raisonnable de faire pour nous assurer que les renseignements personnels que nous recueillons, utilisons ou divulguons sont exacts et complets. Dans certains cas, nous devrons compter sur vous pour nous assurer que certains renseignements, tels votre adresse et votre numéro de téléphone, sont à jour, complets et exacts.

Si vous pouvez démontrer que les renseignements personnels dont nous disposons sont inexacts ou incomplets, nous ferons les modifications requises. Le cas échéant, nous ferons parvenir les renseignements modifiés aux tierces parties à qui ces renseignements auront été divulgués.

Si une contestation quant à l'exactitude de vos renseignements n'est pas résolue à votre satisfaction, nous noterons dans votre dossier de renseignements personnels, qui sont sous notre contrôle, qu'une correction a été requise mais qu'elle n'a pas été faite.

7. Protection des renseignements personnels

Nous reconnaissons nos obligations professionnelles et juridiques de protéger les renseignements personnels de nos clients. Nous reconnaissons également l'obligation juridique qui nous incombe de protéger les renseignements personnels que mous recueillons au jour le jour au sujet de nos clients et d'autres particuliers.

C'est pourquoi nous avons pris les mesures nécessaires pour nous prémunir contre l'accès, la collecte, l'utilisation, la divulgation, la copie, la modification, l'aliénation ou la destruction non autorisés de renseignements personnels.

Veuillez prendre note que la confidentialité et la sécurité ne sont pas assurées lorsque des renseignements sont transmis par courriel ou par toute autre communication électronique. Nous ne serons responsables d'aucune perte ou dommage résultant d'une infraction à la sécurité et/ou à la confidentialité lorsque vous nous transmettez des renseignements par courriel ou autre mode de communication électronique, ou lorsque nous vous transmettons de tels renseignements par ces moyens, à votre demande.

8.Transparence

Davis a une attitude ouverte quant à la politique et aux procédures suivies pour protéger vos renseignements personnels. Des renseignements à ce sujet seront disponibles. Toutefois, afin d'assurer l'intégrité de nos procédures de sécurité et de nos méthodes commerciales, nous ne divulguons pas de renseignements de nature critique au sujet de notre politique et de nos and procédures.

9. Accès à vos renseignements

Vous avez le droit d'accès aux renseignements personnels que détient sur vous Davis.

Sur demande écrite et vérification de votre identité, nous vous fournirons vos renseignements personnels que nous avons en mains, ainsi que des renseignements sur la façon dont vos renseignements sont utilisés et une description des particuliers ou organisations à qui ces renseignements ont été divulgués.

Il se peut que nous chargions des frais raisonnables pour les renseignements fournis en réponse à une demande d'accès. Nous vous fournirons une estimation de ces frais dès que nous recevrons une requête d'accès aux renseignements. Il se peut que nous demandions un dépôt pour une partie ou pour la totalité des frais.

Les renseignements seront disponibles dans un délai de 30 jours, faute de quoi nous vous aviserons par écrit que nous avons besoin de temps additionnel pour répondre à votre demande.

Il peut arriver que, dans certain cas, nous soyons incapables de vous donner accès à certains renseignements personnels. Ainsi, il pourrait arriver que la divulgation de ces renseignements révèlent des renseignements personnels au sujet de quelqu'un d'autre, que les renseignements personnels soient protégés par le secret professionnel de l'avocat, que les renseignements aient été recueillis aux fins d'enquête, que la divulgation des renseignements ait pour effet de divulguer des renseignements confidentiels de nature commerciale et ait pour ultime effet de nuire à la position concurrentielle de Davis & compagnie, ou encore que nous voulions exercer notre privilège de procureur sur les documents au dossier pour comptes en souffrance. Il se peut aussi que Davis & compagnie soit empêché par la loi de vous accorder l'accès à certains renseignements personnels.

Si une requête à l'accès vous est refusée, nous vous en aviserons par écrit, vous expliquerons les raisons de ce refus et vous suggérerons d'autres démarches à entreprendre.

10. Changements

Nous pourrons, à l'occasion, réviser ou changer notre Politique de confidentialité.

11. Site Web

Notre site Web n'utilise pas présentement de mouchards («cookies»). Les mouchards sont de petites pièces de données qui sont stockées sur votre ordinateur afin de permettre à votre navigateur de mémoriser quelque chose d'un site Web. Les mouchards sont utiles parce qu'ils permettent de personnaliser un site. Par exemple, les mouchards permettent de mémoriser un mot de passe et vous évite ainsi de l'inscrire chaque fois que vous entrez sur un site. Les mouchards jouent également un rôle de dépistage et de cible relativement aux intérêts d'un utilisateur, le tout servant à améliorer l'expérience de cet utilisateur sur leur site.

Notre site Web peur contenir des liens à d'autres sites ainsi qu'à de la publicité. Notre Politique de confidentialité ne s'applique qu'aux renseignements recueillis sur notre site Web. Nous ne sommes pas responsables de la politique et des procédures de confidentialité de tierces parties.

12. Conformité

Davis pourra, sur demande, fournir des renseignements sur la procédure de traitement des plaintes.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur notre Politique de confidentialité, veuillez contacter le webmestre.